South Texas Home

Graduation Home

Graduation FAQ

Information for Graduating Students

The Commencement Ceremony

Guest Hooding

Graduation Giving

 

 


 

Graduation Requirements

The Doctor of Jurisprudence Degree
The Doctor of Jurisprudence degree (JD) will be conferred upon students who have successfully
completed all requirements of South Texas College of Law for graduation. There are three
graduating classes each year (May-spring semester; July-summer session; December-fall semester) with two graduation ceremonies. The May graduation ceremony honors the May and July graduates.The December graduation ceremony honors the December graduates. Both ceremonies are held off campus.

Requirements for Graduation

  • Meet all entrance requirements.
  • Earn at least 90 semester hours of credit with a passing grade and a cumulative
    grade average of 2.200 (2.000 if enrollment commenced prior to 2011 fall) or better
    within seven years of the date of first enrollment. No more than 30 semester hours
    may be earned at other law schools. (See Visiting Student Status.)
  • Complete with a passing grade the following required courses for graduation:

  • Civil Procedure
  • Constitutional Law
  • Contracts I and II
  • Criminal Law
  • Evidence
  • Federal Income Taxation
  • Legal Research & Writing I and II
  • Professional Responsibility
  • Property I and II
  • Torts I and II
  • substantial writing (minimum of two hours credit)
  • professional skills (minimum of two credit hours).
  • Complete the degree no earlier than 24 months and no later than 84 months after
    commencing law studies.
  • Complete all required courses in residence, unless required courses were accepted
    when a student transferred into the college.
  • Make formal application for graduation.
  • Pay all fees and tuition charges incurred prior to graduation
  • Participate in commencement, unless permission to graduate in absentia is granted
    by the Dean.
  • Attend the college’s bar exam preparation course as a prerequisite to graduation if
    entering his/her last semester with a cumulative GPA lower than 2.800 (2.500 if
    enrollment commenced prior to 2011 fall) (Academic Supervision).
    A student can satisfy this requirement only by attending at least 80% of the course’s
    sessions.

If any of the above requirements is not met, the degree cannot be conferred and the
anticipated graduation date will move to the next semester. Examples typically include:

  1. a grade of “F” or “incomplete” entered on the record or
  2. credit not received for a course taken as a visiting student.

All requirements must be met within a period no later than one year after the original
graduation date. The degree will be conferred in the semester when all requirements
have been finally met.