Scribes Winners




June 23, 2009—The most prestigious legal writing award in the country will be presented to students from South Texas College of Law. The Scribes award from the American Society of Legal Writers is given to authors of the best written legal brief submitted in a national moot court competition this past academic year. South Texas students received both the first and second place awards that will be presented at the American Bar Association’s annual meeting in August.

The winning brief, written by May 2009 graduates Bridget Burke, Stephanie Holcombe, and Justin Jenson, won the majority of the votes from selection committee members for the brief that was written for the National Moot Court Invitational. The judging is done by attorneys, judges, and professors from across the nation. The second place Scribes winning brief was written by recent graduates Lauren Sneed and Christopher Avery and incoming third-year student Ana Martinez for the August A. Rendigs National Products Liability Moot Court Competition. Briefs are written for each moot court competition where students from law schools across the nation argue a hypothetical case against each other. “The foundation of great appellate advocacy is great brief writing,” says Associate Dean and Director of Advocacy T. Gerald Treece. South Texas is the most decorated Advocacy Program in the nation with 101 national titles and is consistently ranked among the top ten advocacy programs by U.S. News and World Report.

For more information, please contact Sheila Hansel at 713-646-1799, or shansel@stcl.edu.

Accepting the Scribes honors in Chicago at the American Bar Association meetings were South Texas Distinguished Lecturer Rob Galloway, winners Bridget Burke and Justin Jenson, and President and Dean Donald Guter.